Truth and Honor

Truth and Honor by Carol Ashby book cover

Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, many online booksellers, and local bookstores by special order.

Is truth worth the price if it costs you everything?

For Tribune Glabrio, descended from three consuls of Rome and determined to be the fourth, commanding the troops policing Carthago appears ideal for hastening his political rise. Arriving from Rome with the secretly Christian Sartorus as his aide, Glabrio discovers the man he was to replace has vanished without a trace. Was the missing tribune too close to finding the counterfeiters Glabrio is now hunting? But no matter the cost, duty and honor require him to enforce Roman law.

Orphaned as a child and taken to live with her pagan grandfather, Martina met Jesus through her step-grandmother. Their faith was a well-kept secret, even from most of their family. With both grandparents now dead, her uncle helps Martina hide the faith he doesn’t share. But after a single dinner at her uncle’s, the new tribune is determined to get to know her. No matter what she does to discourage Glabrio, he won’t leave her alone. But if he discovers her faith, will it mean her death?

When Martina rescues Glabrio from the counterfeiter’s schemes, he learns the people who risked everything to save him share the faith that got his grandfather executed. Embracing that faith could cost him the future he planned on. As an officer of the empire, it’s his duty to reject it…but what if it’s true?

Roman Carthage (Carthago)–the setting for Truth and Honor
Historical Background for Truth and Honor: Counterfeiting

Light in the Empire Series: Dangerous times, difficult friendships, lives transformed by forgiveness and love

Truth and Honor is the twelvth volume in the Light in the Empire series, which follows the interconnected lives of the members of several Roman families during the reigns of Trajan and Hadrian. The novels of the stand-alone series will take you around the Empire, from Germania and Britannia to Thracia, Dacia, Judaea, North Africa, and, of course, to Rome itself.

Where to get Carol’s books:
Paperback, hardcover, and Kindle formats at,, and international Amazon sites
Paperback, hardcover and Nook (epub) at Barnes & Noble.
Paperback and hardcover at many online booksellers
Paperback and hardcover at independent bookstores
Ebooks at Kobo world wide

Other books in the stand-alone Light in the Empire series

Volume 1: Forgiven Are some wounds too deep to forgive?

Volume 2: Blind Ambition Sometimes you have to almost die to discover how you want to live.

Volume 3: The Legacy When Rome has taken everything, what’s left for a man to give?

Volume 4: Faithful Is the price of true friendship ever too high?

Volume 5: Second Chances Must the shadows of the past destroy the hope of the future?

Volume 6: True Freedom The chains we cannot see can be the hardest ones to break.

Volume 7: Hope Unchained Can the deepest loss bring the greatest gain?

Volume 8: Honor Bound Honor had forced him to protect her. Time would tell if he’d regret it.

Volume 9: Hope’s Reward Must the secrets we hide destroy our hope for a future?

Volume 10: More Than Honor
As he hunts the one who killed her father, will he discover the secret that could lead to her death?

Volume 11: What Matters Most When faced with impossible choices, how do you decide what matters most?

Volume 12: Truth and Honor Is truth worth the price if it costs you everything?

Relationships between the Light in the Empire Novels
Lists and charts of the times, locations, and people in the different novels. All can be read stand-alone, but you might enjoy reading some together because of what they share.

Important aspects of Roman history for each can be found in the short articles at the end of each novel linked here and in longer articles in this website.

Fact and Fiction by Carol Ashby