More Than Honor

More Than Honor cover

Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and local bookstores by special order.

Duty and honor had anchored his life, but only truth could set him free.

Devotion to duty and dogged determination make Tribune Titianus the most feared investigator of the Urban Cohort. Honor drives him to hunt down anyone who breaks Roman law, but it becomes personal when Lenaeus, his old tutor, is murdered in his own classroom. Why kill a respected teacher of the noble sons of Rome, a man who has nothing worth stealing and no known enemies? Had he learned something too dangerous to let him live?

Pompeia was only a girl when Titianus studied with Father before her family became Christians. She and her brother Kaeso can’t move their school from the house where their father was killed. But what if the one who killed Father comes to kill again? Kaeso’s friend Septimus insists they spend nights at his father’s well-guarded home. But danger lurks there as well. As Titianus hunts for the murderer, will he discover their secret faith and arrest them as enemies of the Empire?

When Titianus gets too close to finding the killer, the hunter becomes the hunted. While he recovers at his cousin Septimus’s house, Pompeia becomes the first woman to touch his heart. But a tribune’s loyalty is sworn to Rome, no matter how he feels. When her faith is revealed, will truth and love mean more to him than honor? Does honor require more than devotion to Rome?

Light in the Empire Series: Dangerous times, difficult friendships, lives transformed by forgiveness and love

More Than Honor is the tenth volume in the Light in the Empire series, which follows the interconnected lives of the members of several Roman families during the reigns of Trajan and Hadrian. The fourteen novels of the stand-alone series will take you around the Empire, from Germania and Britannia to Thracia, Dacia, and Judaea and, of course, to Rome itself.

Where to get Carol’s books:
Paperback, hardcover, and Kindle formats at,, and international Amazon sites
Paperback, hardcover and Nook (epub) at Barnes & Noble.
Paperback and hardcover at many online booksellers
Paperback and hardcover at independent bookstores
Ebooks at Kobo world wide

Other books in the stand-alone Light in the Empire series

Volume 1: Forgiven Are some wounds too deep to forgive?

Volume 2: Blind Ambition Sometimes you have to almost die to discover how you want to live.

Volume 3: The Legacy When Rome has taken everything, what’s left for a man to give?

Volume 4: Faithful Is the price of true friendship ever too high?

Volume 5: Second Chances Must the shadows of the past destroy the hope of the future?

Volume 6: True Freedom The chains we cannot see can be the hardest ones to break.

Volume 7: Hope Unchained Can the deepest loss bring the greatest gain?

Volume 8: Honor Bound Honor had forced him to protect her. Time would tell if he’d regret it.

Volume 9: Hope’s Reward Must the secrets we hide destroy our hope for a future?

Volume 10: More Than Honor
As he hunts the one who killed her father, will he discover the secret that could lead to her death?

Volume 11: What Matters Most When faced with impossible choices, how do you decide what matters most?

Volume 12: Truth and Honor Is truth worth the price if it costs you everything?

Relationships between the Light in the Empire Novels
Lists and charts of the times, locations, and people in the different novels. All can be read stand-alone, but you might enjoy reading some together because of what they share.

Important aspects of Roman history for each can be found in the short articles at the end of each novel linked here and in longer articles in this website.

Fact and Fiction by Carol Ashby